motivation vs action


Motivations.
We all have them.
Action.
Motivation leads to action.
The intensity of our motivation is, generally, proportional to the intensity of our action.
The deeply motivated have the energy to create a lot of good…and a lot of bad.
The deeply motivated can work and create in charity and giving.
The deeply motivated can create violence, disaster and war.

Now, there’s nothing wrong with doing things when deeply motivated.
But some people misidentify their motivations, trying to make their actions look valid….even righteous.

To this day, I will never understand causing violence upon another (except in self-defense), especially for the sake of one’s religion.
I’ve been told that the death penalty is a form of justice, given to us by God.

Let’s get real.
The death penalty is basically a form of punishment that keeps society from having to pay to keep a criminal alive until his natural death.
In those instances, society has determined that it would benefit the community more to use the resources that would have kept that criminal alive for other things.
That’s a valid argument.

For some, though, the death penalty is also a form of revenge.
I have been witness to people claiming “Hallelujah” when they hear a death penalty has been executed.
This has made me sad because each and every time, these people claim to be forgiving and righteous, and yet they give into the motivation of revenge and claim justice to be served. Then, they turn right around and tell me that only God can judge them.
That is called hypocrisy and it bothers me.  It’s a personal thing. And my views on the death penalty should be (and might show up) in a different blog.

For now, I have something to say about recent events.

Recently, a person, who most of society feels is undeniably guilty of a crime that might have drawn the death penalty, was found, surprisingly, not guilty.
Yes, my jaw dropped when I heard the verdict.

But, what surprised me the most was how certain individuals in society have reacted to that verdict.

Some have taken it upon themselves to exact their own justice against the jurors of the case.
Those jurors are now in fear for their lives.
Be on alert, too, if you even remotely look like the accused.  There have been reports of attacks on women who are guilty of no crime except for the fact that they may bear some resemblance to the accused.
There is no excuse for this behavior, in any way shape or form.
There is no excuse for this behavior, at all.

Perhaps these people need to look in their scriptures a little more.

Generally, the scriptures (whatever the religion may be) propose treating your fellow man fairly.
Sometimes, it is even thought of as more humane, dare i say righteous, to treat others better than you might treat yourself.
That can be called charity.

The motivation for this, for some, is because God says it’s the way.
I can accept that.

I also say, your motivation should be that it makes you feel good about how your actions benefit others and how it makes you feel as a person.

In the case sited above, I’m not saying “forgive and forget.”  That eliminates your motivation.

Perhaps, though, today, as we want to exact revenge on people who judged someone differently than we would have, we should redirect our motivations in actions more positive and useful.
Perhaps, we should focus energies on charities or laws that help children and support the rights of our only future: our children.
Perhaps, if you feel the judicial system is flawed, you should work on changing that system.

Remember that society’s children are watching and learning.  So far, those children are learning that when things don’t go their way, violence is the way to go.

Oh, wait…my parents called that “a tantrum.”

~ by ritamerlot on July 16, 2011.

2 Responses to “motivation vs action”

  1. Rita you are a wise Woman. Thank you for pointing out things I was thinking!!! What is to be the true Christian’s attitude toward fellow humans who make themselves his enemies? Jesus counseled: “Continue to love your enemies, to do good to those hating you.” (Lu 6:27, 28) He explained: “You heard that it was said [not in the Bible, but in tradition], ‘You must love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ However, I say to you: Continue to love your enemies and to pray for those persecuting you.” (Mt 5:43, 44) And, doubtless referring to Proverbs 25:21, the apostle Paul admonishes: “If your enemy is hungry, feed him.” (Ro 12:20) This principle was enunciated by the Law, which read: “Should you come upon your enemy’s bull or his ass going astray, you are to return it without fail to him. Should you see the ass of someone who hates you lying down under its load, then you must refrain from leaving him. With him you are without fail to get it loose.”—Ex 23:4, 5. Therefore the true servant of God does not take vengeance into his own hands; neither does he wish for calamity on his enemies for personal satisfaction, remembering the wise counsel: “When your enemy falls, do not rejoice; and when he is caused to stumble, may your heart not be joyful.” (Proverbs 24:17)

  2. Well said Rita. I had been in situations where I had been hurt tremendously and my daughter my most precious gift, But the time goes by and the life go on and the scars remain but my happiness still with me. I never gave my power to the person.This person should be dead.He still living with the concisest remainder of what he did.Revenge always have another energy coming back to us.because we need to use this tremendous force and energy to create anger to be able to hurt somebody back.I don’t like people hurting each other and I will always defend myself and my love one,But I don’t think I will take nobody’s life. That’s God in my opinion Job.Only my personal with a lot of respect; opinion. Love you girl. Odalis

Leave a Reply

 
